Book Review Adela Arthur and The Creator’s Clock

July 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm 2 comments

aaandcc.v1-FinalTitle: Adela Arthur and The Creator’s Clock

Author: Judyann McCole

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Purchase: Goodreads

To Who Ever This May Concern;I wish I could tell you the contents of this book were purely fictional. That I, Adela Arthur, was just a normal sixteen year old from Portland and that dragons, giants, elves and mermaids were just myths.  I wish these were legends shared from crazy old grandparents to crazy old grandparents around campfires. After all, that is what I used to believe.

I never would have thought they lived on the other side of our mirrors in a world called Cielieu. But they do…

I never would have thought there were humans, better known as Volsin that lived among them with the ability to create light from a single thought.  But there are…

I never would have thought I was one of them… But I am…

I am the last Arthur and I was brought to the human world after a Volsin, filled with greed, began to strip the light from our kind.

The human world was supposed to be a safe haven… but he’s found us and the only way to stop him is to go back to Cielieu and begin training as a student in the Elpida Castle of Light.

Like I said I wish the contents of this book were purely fictional and not my life…

ADELA ARTHUR

 Adela Arthur and The Creator’s Clock reminded me of Harry Potter. Some reviewers claim it’s a blatant rip off. I disagree. Sure, there were similarities, but there’s a large difference between similarities and plagiarism.

Either way, Adela Arthur, our main character, is by all means a regular girl. Until a monster shows up at her school, kills the girl who used to bully her, and puts her and her best friend Hector in danger. Adela’s grandpa goes on to tell her he’s a dragon, and Adela is originally from another world, where her family was very powerful and used their light (some kind of power) to protect the world from an evil wizard named Delapeur. Adela wants to go back to her home world and face the evil that’s nearly destroyed it.

Back there, Adela and Hector join some kind of magical school, where they learn to use their “light”. Hector finds his light almost right away, but for Adela, it takes months. Meanwhile, the evil wizard is waiting for the perfect moment to attack…

So, the similarities are the following: magic school, a wizard whose name can’t be spoken, a magical sport much like Quidditch, Adela is sort of like “The Chosen One”. She’s “The Adela Arthur”.

But there are plenty of differences as well. I’d go as far as to say it may be inspired by Harry Potter, but Harry Potter itself was inspired by other books as well. So meh.

The book on itself, was a pleasant read. Adela is a nice character, but she whines quite a lot early on. I liked the love interest, the hints of a love triangle, and their powers, which were very different from the magical powers talked about in Harry Potter.

The plot wasn’t highly original, but it’s not the worst I’ve seen either. The villain’s reasons are never spoken about, and he appears to be very one-dimensional. Never really turns into an actual person. The book is repetitive at times as well.

Apart from that, I enjoyed it. Lots of action, an okay plot, okay characters.

Entry filed under: Book Reviews, Enchanted Book Tours. Tags: , , .

Book Review The Rising Wind Guest Post Finding Amy

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed