Book Excerpt from Loving is Good

September 23, 2014 at 7:45 pm Leave a comment

lovingisgoodbanner

Book Excerpt

“You’re deep in thought. Anything I can help you with?” Gabe asked with his gravelly and a pinch of hot- smoldering-sexy voice.

A gasp slipped through my lips, and my body temperature jumped ten degrees.

“Didn’t mean to scare you. Your mom”—Gabe pointed to the Mi Vida food truck—“told me to come get you. She said and I quote, ‘Tell my girl to get her curvy ass over here now,’ with an emphasis on now. I guessed that’s you since I don’t see any other girls sitting here with a curvy ass quite like yours.”

His eyes traveled my terrain, a full body inventory in seconds, lingering on my backside a little too long for comfort. My temperature was close to boiling.

“Wipe that smirk off your face or I will. I grew up on the mean streets of LA,” I said sharply.

His laugh rocked me from the inside out. I crossed my arms around my chest, partly to hide my Wonder Bra but mostly to hide my flighty hand movements and fidgeting. I tightened my hold around my body and stuck out my chin. It wasn’t a flattering pose, but I was going for tough.

“You make me laugh.” His nose crinkled. It made him look all the more sexy.

“You doubt me?” I said and tightened the grip around my chest.

He retorted with an irresistibly devastating grin. “I know for a fact that you grew up in the suburbs of Santa Barbara. The only thing you know about the mean streets is what you learned watching Law and Order reruns.”

“You don’t know anything about me.” I held firm in my pose but added narrowed eyes and pressed lips. My menacing look didn’t leave him shaking in fear.

“Your cousin”—he nodded toward Diego—“and I went out for beers last week. Give him a couple of beers and he reads like an open book.” His eyes resumed their roaming.

Loving is Good

perf5.000x8.000.inddTitle: Loving is Good

Author: Brenda Moguez

Genre: Sweet romance / new adult

Celia Mendoza is not living La Vida Loca. She put her graduate studies on hold after her father died. Now she dishes out advice in her e-zine column, Luna Love, Loving is Good. The problem is, she hasn’t had a second date or a kiss in over a year. Then Gabe Mercer, a modern-day Adonis, shows up, daring her to take a chance. The string of broken hearts in his wake turns Celia off, but his relentless encouragement to pursue her dream of becoming a serious journalist contradicts his reputation, making it hard to fight the pull of his topaz, come-hither eyes. He’s everything Luna Love tells her readers to take a chance on, but Celia can’t decide if a chance encounter is worth the gamble. But life has a will of its own, and hers is pushing Celia to accept the uncertainty and run towards her destiny.

Author Bio

moguez_headshotBrenda Moguez lives in San Francisco. She writes fiction with quirky, strong women, with non-formulaic endings because life isn’t always perfect. She writes by the light of the moon and between conference calls. She has aspirations for a fully staffed villa in Barcelona and funding aplenty for a room of her own. When she’s not working on a story, she writes love letters to the universe, dead poets, and Mae West. You can find her at http://www.brendamoguez.com and https://www.facebook.com/BrendaMoguez, where she explores passionate pursuits in all its forms.

Links

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Loving-Good-Luna-Brenda-Moguez-ebook/dp/B00MG7JL2I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1408220319&sr=8-1&keywords=brenda+moguez

Barnes and Nobel

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loving-is-good-brenda-moguez/1120060641?ean=2940149624850

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BrendaMoguez

Twitter:  @BrendaMoguez

Email: brenda.moguez@gmail.com

My website:

http://www.brendamoguez.com

Entry filed under: Book Excerpt Posts, Enchanted Book Tours. Tags: , , .

Cover Reveal Washed Hands Promo Post Defender of the Flame

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



