Book Excerpt from Earth Cell

May 15, 2014 at 1:42 pm Leave a comment

earthcellbanner

I’m hosting an excerpt from “Earth Cell”, the first book in a brand new science-fiction trilogy by author Charles Brass. Enjoy!

Book Excerpt

She closed her eyes and whispered for several moments, then made a gesture, gave a silent snap of her fingers. The candle burst to life. The flame burned red, like the globes overhead. I found my gaze drawn to it. The pull reminded me of the glamour on the Kerrid’s sleeve, which held me the quick moment it took for the Kerrid to plant his dagger in my shoulder. At the thought, I felt a spasm in my shoulder that rolled down my arm, made my fingers twitch.

Aihrah took in a loud troubled breath. The sound gave me the strength to tear my gaze from the candle flame. I studied the elder’s face. Her eyes were closed, her lips pressed tight. In the dim light, I saw a thin sheen of sweat on her wrinkled, sparsely-furred brow. She appeared to be struggling to breathe.

A distant alarm sounded in my mind. How much time had passed?

The candle flame danced momentarily in an unfelt breeze. More twinges, like quick muscle spasms, raced down my back and legs, gave my head a single jerk at the neck. Aihrah’s head twitched as well.

The elder muttered something that might have been “Stop.” The left edge of her upper lip curled back, and she groaned. “No!” she whispered through clenched teeth. The candle flame danced again, this time in the opposite direction. And again, odd twitches shook my body.

Then an unseen force snuffed out the candle. I felt ux swirl all about me, then quickly dissipate. Wisps of smoke curled up from the bent wick. Aihrah let out a gasp, her hands coming together over her breastbone as she collapsed forward in her chair.

“Elder?” I placed a hand on her shoulder. Her upper body trembled beneath my touch as I leaned her back up. She seemed weightless, insubstantial. Long strands of fur at her wrist brushed my hand, but I felt nothing. “Aihrah?”

She blinked, took a raspy breath. Her shoulders slumped and she seemed on the verge of collapse again. Then she turned her gaze toward mine and held it with a strength brought, I felt, by fear. In the dim light, I saw panic steal into her expression.

“What . . . are you?” She jerked away from me, twisting to pull her shoulder out from beneath my hand. “Back. Back!”

About Earth Cell

Earth_Cell_cover_frontTitle: Earth Cell: The Ux-Blood Trillogy (Book One)

Author: Charles Brass

Genre: Science Fiction

For centuries, the League of Cells and the Witches Guild have worked together to maintain order and stability across the overweb’s countless worlds.

Walking the pash of a warden for the League of Cells requires dedication, sacrifice, and devotion, as young Maels Raptori, the last of his kind, has learned. But he’s embraced these hardships, for serving as a warden represents the highest honor one might achieve in his lifetime. For six years under the tutelage of his adopted father and the wardens of Earth Cell, he has prepared to fulfill this dream.

When a powerful intruder nearly seizes control of Earth Cell, Maels is tested beyond anything he has experienced. He finds the strength to defeat the invader, but his trials have only begun. Chaos is spreading across the overweb, engulfing all who stand in its way. The conflict soon breaches Earth Cell. Alone on a world of violence, at the mercy of ruthless captors, Maels discovers his years of dedication and devotion may not be enough. To save Earth, he may be called upon to male the ultimate sacrifice…

Author Bio

03-4x5-300dpi-ColorCharles Brass works as a CT/MRI technologist in a new stand-alone 24-hour emergency clinic in a small town south of where he lives, some thirty miles west of Minnesota’s Twin Cities. During his six years of active duty service in the United States Navy, he served five months in Bahrain during the first Gulf War. Now, with a BS in Animation under his belt, he has visions of a successful patient education video business filling his days while CT and MRI scans on sick and injured people visiting the local Emergency Center fills his nights.

For more information, visit his blog at http://seabrassproductions.com or his Author Information page at http://clear­viewpressinc.com. Additionally, he can be reached via email at seabrass@seabrassproductions.com.

Charles plans to devote time to a few shorter works that have been brewing in his brain juices for some time, then resume writing novels. He expects to publish his next novel by the end of 2015.

Links

This book is available in softcover and Kindle formats at amazon.com.

Softcover:

http://www.amazon.com/Earth-Cell-UX-Blood-Trilogy-Book/dp/1935795856/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1379701789&sr=1-1

Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/Earth-Cell-Ux-Blood-Trilogy-Book-ebook/dp/B0060PZHG6/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=1-1&qid=1379701789

Entry filed under: Book Excerpt Posts, Enchanted Book Tours. Tags: , , .

Release Day Party Francesca of Lost Nation Release Day Party Inquisitor

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



