Book Excerpt from A Dance for Fools

January 2, 2014 at 8:56 am Leave a comment

danceforfoolsbanner

Today I’m hosting a snippet from “A Dance for Fools”, an erotica novella by author J.A. Lynch. Have fun!

Book Excerpt

“Your ladyship, your bath is ready.” Klára, my chambermaid said as I sipped wine, staring out into the cool night.

Nodding at her, she bowed her head and stared to the floor, not once making eye contact with me. The girl feared me, feared being alone, possibly afraid of seduction, or death. Whichever it was, it couldn’t have been further from the truth. Yet, the rumours continued to spiral out of control, leaving many a man and woman avoiding being alone with me.

Of course, I relished the solitude. It gave me time to figure out exactly what I wanted to do. It also meant I didn’t have to always defend myself or my choices. But only for Batar, my days would have been extremely boring; he brought a little enlightenment to an already decaying existence.

Slipping out of my silken gown, I stood naked in full view of Klára who took one hand as I stepped into the bath and sank down under the water. The warm soapy foam felt luxurious against my skin. The fragrant scent of lavender and honeysuckle was delicious and helped relax my already anxious mind.

Sponging my skin, Klára cleansed my body as I wittingly gazed at the flickering light of the candles surrounding the huge marble tub.

“Why do you fear me?” I asked as my hands were washed.

My question was met with silence.

This pissed me off. I loathed when my servants disobeyed me, playing their little games of insolence.

“Speak when you are spoken to girl.” I demanded.

Her hands shook as she sponged the warm soap over my chest, and I could feel her odd heartbeat increase. She was panicking, yet trying her best to continue her job. I found that fascinating.

“Klára, I mean you no harm.” I softened my tone, which seemed to do the trick because she inhaled deeply before she spoke.

“They say you are a witch.” She muttered, her voice shaking.

Laughing hard, I made her jump, her hand dropping the sponge into the water and before she sank her hand down to retrieve it, she hesitated and met my eyes.

“If I were a witch, don’t you think I would have magicked myself clean?” I joked.

Shrugging her shoulders, she found the sponge, and squeezed it before applying more crème to lather into my skin.

“They say you killed the Rose for her powers.” She blurted out.

A Dance for Fools

a dance for fools coverTitle: A Dance for Fools

Author: J.A Lynch

Genre: Erotica

Bianka, a vampire with an insatiable thirst and desire for the body unlocked Pandora’s box when she disposed of Iona, and instead of getting the freedom she desired, she condemned herself to a curse.

With her new found fate as the Rose, comes the responsibility of choosing her own courtesan and fulfilling her pledge to Artemis and the Oracle, but Bianka is hell bent on revenge, and if she can’t have her freedom then at least she can play the King and his court for fools.

Of course, nothing is never simple, and as Bianka puts all her energies into revenge, she doesn’t see the ensuing chaos that she unleashes.

A dance for fools is only the beginning of the end…

Author Bio

JulieanneLynchFiery Librian Julieanne Lynch is an author of urban fantasy books for both adults and teens. Julieanne lives in Northern Ireland , where she works on her Shadow World novels and other series full-time. Before becoming a writer, she considered a few different career paths, a rock star being one of them. She studied English Literature and Creative Writing at The Open University, and considered journalism as a career path. However, she decided writing was the way for her and believes all of her education and reading prepared her for it.

Julieanne also writes under the pen name J.A. Lynch.

An avid reader, Julieanne has always had an encompassing fascination with folklore. When not writing, she enjoys crime series such as Criminal Minds, CSI, NCIS and Cold Case, and loves anything with Vampires, listening to metal, meeting new people, drinking lots of green tea, and sharing her dreams with her children. She is a self-professed goth wanna-be,and is happy when left to write into the early hours of the morning.

Julieanne’s YA series, The Shadow World novels, is published by Vamptasy Publishing and thus far contains Within the Shadows. It follows the war between vampires and shadow creatures. Giselle Bergman, an 18-year old human girl, falls victim to a scheme by one of her closest childhood friends, and embarks on a journey that sees her become the center of a battle between good and evil.

Links

www.julieannelynch.co.uk
www.twitter.com/julieannelynch
www.facebook.com/AuthorJulieanneLynch
www.julieannelynch.blogspot.co.uk
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JulieanneLynch

Purchase your copy for Kindle:

Kindle US – http://amzn.to/1bML0h1

Kindle UK – http://amzn.to/1bML0h5

Entry filed under: Book Excerpt Posts, Enchanted Book Tours. Tags: , , , .

Book Review The Unknown Mother Book Excerpt Inside the Tall, Thick Book of Tales

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



