Book Excerpt from Twelve Houses

December 26, 2013 at 12:53 am Leave a comment

twelvehousesbanner

I’m hosting an excerpt from contemporary fiction novel “Twelve Houses”. Enjoy the snippet!

Book Excerpt

You promised you would never leave me. Thirty-five years ago, I looked you directly in the eye and heard, “I will never leave you,” as we stood next to the ocean. And now, like a thief in the night, you go. No last words, no promises, no tears.
May you find joy in every day, forgiveness in every thoughtless action on my part, and know my love in every breath.
I make the cab driver go in circles for some time, as I pretend to be sightseeing in order to have time to process what just happened.
Thinking about her last words… feeling regret and acceptance become one.
Maybe that’s the thing: Love makes us do stupid, selfish, irrational acts.
I figure that detachment can bring clarity, but for those of us immersed and close, it can cause blindness.
If I allow myself to be pulled into your gravitational force I may lose myself completely.

About Twelve Houses

portada twelvehouses finalTitle: Twelve Houses

Author: Olga Soaje

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

 What will she do now? Amelia Weiss wakes up alone, with the body of her husband cold beside her, dead. She cannot believe he has left her when he swore he never would. It is almost as if she is nothing without him.

But this novel is not about a man’s death. It is about a woman coming back to life. Slowly, painfully, a sensitive artist and mother makes new connections, finds new occupations, and rediscovers her place in the world.

 Raised to believe a widow’s role is to take care of grandchildren and make grief her companion, Amelia takes a different path. She embarks on the most challenging year of her life.

  She struggles to repair her broken relationship with her daughter and develops a second career in midlife. If she can find a way to allow herself to act in the face of her guilt and her daughter’s disapproval, she may even find love again.

 This heartfelt novel is the story of a courageous woman’s spiritual rebirth. As Amelia begins to rediscover herself, readers will share in her refusal to give in to loss or to accept anything less than a rich and meaningful life.

Author Bio

foto olga libro twelve housesIn my novel Twelve Houses, I tell the story of a widow who discovers that her life story is far from over. Amelia is a brave woman who struggles to find her true place in the world and at the same time to create a life that holds spiritual meaning and purpose. Though my first book, Borrowing My Mother’s Saints, was a comedy set in New York, I think both books describe a similar spiritual journey. I always consider the spiritual aspects of a character’s story as I write.

I love to hear from my readers in Amazon reviews and Facebook.

Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Olga-Soaje/275855065861387?fref=ts

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19072504-twelve-houses?from_search=true

Amazon (Paperback): http://www.amazon.com/Twelve-Houses-Olga-Soaje/dp/1494285991/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1387201479&sr=8-1&keywords=twelve+houses+olga

Amazon (Kindle): http://www.amazon.com/Twelve-Houses-Olga-Soaje-ebook/dp/B00HALNOXC/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=8-1&qid=1387201479

Entry filed under: Book Excerpt Posts, Enchanted Book Tours. Tags: , , .

Book Review The Emperor’s New Clothes Release Day Party for The Emperor’s New Clothes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



