Book Excerpt from Creation

August 10, 2013 at 12:09 am Leave a comment

creationbanner

I’m hosting a snippet from literary fiction novel “Creation” today. “Creation” is touring with Enchanted Book Promotions from July 15th to August 15th. Check out the other tour stops here!

Book Excerpt

I knock on Janet’s door. All of our doors are a deep, dark brown. They call it Oak. I’ve always enjoyed the swirls of color that are never quite even and that are always unique. I wonder if they inspired her ballet Firewind. The Dancers had the same flurried, rapid look about them.

“Who is it?” Janet calls out. Her voice is dull and weak.

“Wessely and Jess,” I say through the door. “May we come in?”

“I’m working,” she says. There is an edge of panic in her voice. “Leave me be.”

“Have you eaten?” I ask.

“No,” she replies. The change in her tone is unnerving. “I have not. I cannot. I must continue to work before I can eat.”

Wes nods at me, and I push her door open.

I cannot see her because her room is covered with pages upon pages and stacks upon stacks of sheet music, costumes, and ballet shoes. I stumble through the piles.

“Janet?” I ask.

She is furiously writing out the choreography to what I assume is her newly HOF-assigned Creation. Before I can speak again, Edward the Composer steps into the room and places a bundle of music on her desk.

“Forgive me for being a little late,” he says. “Here it is. Nathaniel has rehearsed the Orchestra. They need one more practice.”

“There’s no time,” she says with a growl to her voice. I step back. “Tell the Musicians to practice harder. We’re premiering this tomorrow. Understand?”

Edward apologizes and strides away without hesitation. Janet looks me in the eyes, and I see something which makes me tremble. She is unwell, and I have no doubt she will soon be taken to the Community.

“What?” she says.

“Janet, you’ve changed,” I tell her. “What did they do to you?”

“I cannot say,” she says. “But what I can say is that if you want me to improve, you’ll leave me be to work.”

“Why must you work so hard?” Wes asks. “And what for? Who is this for, Janet?”

“For the benefit of everyone else!” she barks, but her face falls and tears come to her eyes. “I’m sorry, I shouldn’t have said that. Please, just go. I don’t want you to remember me like this.”

She rises from her chair, takes our arms, and leads us out of the room.

“Tell James I…” she begins, but she does not finish. Instead, she turns away with surprising speed and slams the door shut.

About Creation

CREATIONTitle: Creation

Author: Kat Mellon

Genre: Literary Fiction

Who owns what you create?

Creation is a provocative exploration of what it means to be free. Set in a dystopian future where creativity is exclusively harnessed for the greater good, two artistically talented individuals remind us all never to take for granted the product of our own work and imagination.

Creation is inspired by Ayn Rand’s Anthem and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go.

Author Bio

Kat is a young author living in Fort Collins, CO. She graduated cum laude from the University of New Mexico with a BA in English at age nineteen and is a master of procrastination and pizza eating.  She will soon query agents with her biggest and baddest novel, Flowers When You’re Dead.

Links

Main Website: katmellon.com
Blog: blog.katmellon.com
YA Trilogy Website: ataviststrilogy.com
Flowers When You’re Dead: fwydbook.blogspot.com
Writing & Design Services: katmauvais.com
Facebook: facebook.com/katmellon
Twitter: @ataviststrilogy

Creation: http://www.amazon.com/Creation-Kat-Mellon/dp/0984947329

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/creation-kat-mellon/1109326650?ean=9780984947324

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13453289-creation

Giveaway

P.S. Kat’s hosting a contest for Creation! Learn more about it by clicking the image below.

Entry filed under: Book Excerpt Posts, Enchanted Book Tours. Tags: , , , .

Book Excerpt from The Granite Key Book Excerpt from The Magistrate

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



