Guest Post Medusa’s Desire

December 29, 2012 at 12:12 am Leave a comment

medusabanner

I’m happy to give my blog to E.B. Black, the author of Medusa’s Desire, a fantasy romance novel, for today as a guest blogger as part of a book tour.

Guest Post

When reading a novel or pretty much anything for that matter, the most annoying thing someone can do is read over your shoulder. The words blur on the page as it becomes difficult to concentrate. They’re intruding on your imagination and making it hard to focus.

The words might contain something intimate that you don’t want them to see, like an emotional or romantic scene. I used to hate when my Dad read the back of the books I was reading growing up. I loved romance novels. I was certain he was judging me based on my reading choices. He might make fun of me for them later!

So when I decided to become a writer, this fear came that all writers have. I’m letting a bunch of people see into my imagination. The things I write about, they may judge me for! I’m inviting them to look over my shoulder as I write! Maybe I should hide away the words and never let anyone see.

If I was embarrassed about my Dad reading the backs of romance novels I wanted to read, imagine how I’d feel if he read a romance novel I actually wrote!

I have judged writers based on their novels. I’ve always imagined Janet Evanovich as a happy-go-lucky, energetic woman . J.K. Rowling, I imagine as someone who loves children. Stephenie Meyer, I picture as a very religious individual based on some of the stances her characters took in Twilight. I’ve never met any of these people, but I have certain images in my head of them based on the things they write about.

What will people think of me?

It took me awhile to realize that it really doesn’t matter. Stories are meant to be shared with the world and people will make all kinds of judgments and stereotypes about me no matter what I do with my life.

If it wasn’t for writers, I would never have gotten to escape the drama of high school through words on the page. I wouldn’t have something to read while relaxing in the bath tub. I would need new ways to unwind.

Writers have given me so much, so it’s time I gave something back as well, which is why I wrote my novel, Medusa’s Desire, and plan to write many more stories.

Medusa’s Desire

medusadesireTitle: Medusa’s Desire
Author: E.B. Black
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Goodreads | Amazon

“It all started the day her god raped her.

She transformed into an abomination through his touch. Her skin grew scales. Her eyes turned red. She screamed for help, but all who saw her became stone.

Medusa thought she would be alone forever, until the day a man came to kill her and fell in love instead. Now Perseus is running from those who hired him as he continues to love a girl who could kill him with a glance.”

Author Bio

ebblackE.B. Black lives in southern California with her family and two rottweilers. She daydreams about dressing up like a necromancer for Halloween and about new fantasy worlds she can throw her characters into.

Entry filed under: Enchanted Book Tours, Guest Posts. Tags: , , .

Book Review More Than I Wanted Release Day Party Shadow of Time

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



